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   Frequently Asked Questions 

(FAQs) 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

  Q. Can agencies see reports of OHCQ/DDA? 
 
       A. By law, OHCQ reports are not discoverable. You can, however, contact your regional DDA 
office for information on follow-up. Deficiencies are public documents and can be seen by anyone. 
Agency Board members may also receive deficiencies on a routine basis and the Agency Board 
president is sent copies of all deficiency statements. 
 
Q. What are considered "working days?"  
 
       A. Working days are considered to be Monday through Friday, with the exception of state 
holidays and service reduction days. 
 
Q. Can a time-out room be used for adults?  
 
        A. No, refer to the DDA regulations, 10.22.10.06D3.  
 
Q. Who monitors investigations and surveys completed by OHCQ?  
 
       A. As the State Protection and Advocacy Agency, MDLC can request to review investigations and 
surveys at any time. In addition, the State Medicaid office reviews a sampling of reports annually as 
part of DDA’s federal waiver requirements. 
 
Q. Who is a contact person for jurisdictional issues (e.g., group home in Montgomery County/MD 
but funding and placement was via DC)?  
 
        A. The respective regional office can provide you with this information.  The rule of thumb is 
that if the site is licensed by Maryland DDA and/or the service is funded through Maryland DDA, 
Maryland DDA and OHCQ will handle any review or investigation warranted.  Maryland DDA, D.C. 
DDA, and OHCQ have a Memorandum of Agreement regarding sites operated in Maryland for 
individuals receiving supports from D.C. licensed/certified agencies. 
 
Q. Will data collected from agencies be shared back with agencies periodically? (i.e. patterns 
involving certain staff, homes, individuals, etc., quarterly or annual trends) 
 
       A.  Agencies  should be looking at this information internally and taking action on such trends 
through their Quality Assurance Plan. Regional offices may also share any patterns they recognize 
with agencies.   Data may be requested from OHCQ through the public information act. 
 
Q.  After 6 years, an agency can purge or shred files. Does OHCQ keep files longer? Why the length 
of time - 6 years?  
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          A. OHCQ keeps its files slightly longer than 6 years. The 6-year length of time comes from the 
HIPPA regulations, which is federal law. 
 
Q.  Are electronic records acceptable? 
 
         A:  Yes.  OHCQ must be able to access the complete record and the agency must have the 
capability to print out requested documents at the request of an investigator or surveyor.  Records 
must be protected.  Please refer to the Maryland Medical Records Act, Health-General Sections 4-
301 through 4-309, and  the HIPAA regulations, 45 CFR 164. 

Q. Does Maryland have a central abuse registry? Can we get stricter laws concerning databases for 
staff who have been convicted or had allegations of abuse and do convictions or charges show up 
on police background checks?  
 
       A. Maryland does not have a central abuse registry. We are currently looking at other states to 
see how those states established registries. For private companies doing background checks and 
using a potential employee's Social Security Number, pending charges can be identified. Background 
checks through the State Police only reveal convictions through fingerprints.  
 
Q.  Must agencies know if an individual has a legal guardian?  
 
       A. Yes, the agency  should routinely know this information and document it in the individual's 
plan.  
 
Q. If an individual has a family member, but the family is not involved, should the family be notified 
of events? 
    
     A. Yes, unless otherwise noted in the person's individual plan. It should not be assumed that just 
because a family member is not involved on a regular basis that they would not want to know about 
events in an individual’s life. 
 
Q. Could the automatic notification of an advocate or guardian possibly infringe on the individual's 
rights if they don't want that person notified? Where the individual is his or her own guardian and is 
legally competent, at what point is notifying the family a violation of the individual's human rights? 
 
        A. If the individual has a legal guardian, you must notify that person in the case of a reportable 
incident or other significant event. If the individual has reached the age of majority and does not 
have a guardian, the SRC or community agency must respect the individual's wishes as documented 
in his or her individual plan.  
 
 

FIRE SAFETY/EMERGENCY PLANS 

      Q. What is the impact of a sprinkler system on the evacuation times for residential sites?  

A.  The existence of a sprinkler system in a site, does not afford extra evacuation time in the 
event of a fire emergency. (see below response from Fire Marshal Michael Bond) 
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 “An installed automatic sprinkler system in a residential / health care  
occupancy does not determine evacuation time. Evacuation time can be a  
determining factor with reference to a automatic sprinkler system. In other  
words, in a fire emergency, the activation of the automatic sprinkler system  
could control and possibly extinguish a fire that was sprinkler  
controllable, giving residents a little more time to exit the building. A  
main point to remember is that the smoke from a fire can incapacitate / kill  
before the automatic sprinkler system activates. That is why working smoke  
alarms are so important. 
Since the State Fire Marshal's Office does not enforce the fire code in  
residential occupancies with 5 or less residents, a sprinkler system would  
not be required. However, the local jurisdiction may require it if it was  
built after a certain date. The Office of the State Fire Marshal would require a full automatic sprinkler 
system, fire alarm system and smoke detection system in an occupancy that have 6 or more residents in 
the counties we have jurisdiction in.” 
 

    Q.  Do I need to do anything with our sprinkler system(s)? 

 A.  Periodically observe that nothing is blocking the sprinkler heads, and there should be at least 
an 18 inch clearance. In addition the sprinkler heads should be free of lint and debris.   An annual 
inspection through an agency licensed to inspect or install sprinkler systems is required to ensure the 
system is operable. 

    Q.   Is a secondary means of escape always required in sleeping rooms and living areas? 

A. A secondary means of escape is not required if one of the following conditions is met:  If a 
bedroom or living room has a door leading directly to the outside at or to grade level,  or if it is 
protected by an automatic sprinkler system.  

    Q.   What size should a window be if it will be used as the secondary means of escape? 

A.  When a window is designated as the secondary means of escape from a room, the size of the 
window should be 5.7 square feet.  The width of the window should not be less than 20 inches and the 
height not less than 24 inches. The bottom of the opening should not be more the 44 inches above the 
floor. If the bottom of a window is a few inches above the required 44” from the floor level, a 
permanently affixed ladder or step(s) can be placed below the window. However it must be as wide as 
the window. 

    Q.   Are there any other requirements to be considered for windows when they are to be used as a 
secondary means of escape? 
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A.  The window must open with minimal effort and without the use of keys or special tools. The 
window itself should not be covered or blocked such as by a large head board from a bed or other 
furniture.  A bed or other furniture can be placed below a window and would not impede escape.  

    Q.   How long should it take to evacuate a dwelling in the event of a fire?  

A.  The NFPA Life Safety Code (where they define evacuation capability), states an evacuation 
time of 3 minutes or less without staff assistance is prompt. An evacuation time of over 3 minutes, but 
less than 13 minutes and requiring some staff assistance is slow. An evacuation time of more than 13 
minutes even with staff assistance is impractical.   

    Q.   Should fire escape plans be posted? 

A.  If the individuals living in the home are independent and it is documented that they do not 
want the plan posted on the wall, the plan does not need to be posted.  Please keep in mind that in an 
emergency, most people would probably benefit and need the visual reminder.  

     Q.   How often should fire drills be conducted? 

A.  There are no specific requirements for how often fire drills must be conducted in homes that 
are licensed for 1 to 5 individuals  The rule of thumb is to conduct frequent enough fire/emergency drills 
to ensure evacuation from the site within no more than 3 minutes. 

Keep in mind that when determining how long a fire drill can last, how often they need to be conducted 
and at what time of the day, you need to look at the needs of the individuals. If there is one overnight 
staff and there are 3 non-ambulatory people, you would need to determine whether the people are 
living in a safe place if direct support staff does not know whether or not individuals can be evacuated in 
the event of a fire.  

    Q.   Are there different requirements for how many fire drills should be conducted in group homes 
that have capacities of 6 to 8? 

A.  Yes. Because Fire Marshal inspections are required in jurisdictions throughout the state for 
all group homes licensed for 6 or more the following requirements from NFPA apply: 

Fire/exit drill shall be conducted six (6) times per year on a bi-monthly basis. Not less than two (2) drills 
shall be conducted during the night when residents are asleep. Drills shall be held at different times of 
the day.  

    Q.   How many smoke alarms are required in a home? 

A.  Smoke alarm(s) should be located in all sleeping rooms, on each level of the dwelling 
including basements and outside of each sleeping area in the immediate vicinity of the sleeping rooms. 

    Q.   Are homes required to have interconnected electric 110/volt battery back-up smoke alarms?  
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 A.  No, battery operated smoke alarms are permitted in existing one and two family dwellings, 
provided that they are tested on a regular basis by the property owner/occupant, and are operable at 
the time of the survey.  

    Q.  During a survey or inspection, staff are asked to test the smoke alarms for the OHCQ staff.  Why?   

A.  OHCQ defers to agency staff to test smoke alarms. IN addition to ensuring OHCQ does not 
damage agency equipment, this is also an indication of the ability of staff to test the alarm and conduct 
a fire drill.  

    Q.   Can OHCQ require a Fire Marshal inspection when surveying a licensed site? 

A.  Yes. If OHCQ has concerns regarding fire safety issues that would require the expertise of a 
Fire Marshal, OHCQ will request an inspection. OHCQ will send the request to the local fire marshal for 
that jurisdiction.  

    Q.   Are all group homes with a capacity of 6 and above required to have a Fire Marshal inspection? 

A.  Yes. ALL residential facilities having 6 or more residents not related to the owner are 
required to have an inspection in the state of Maryland.   OHCQ Investigators and Surveyors may  ask for 
a copy of the most recent F.M. inspection for group homes of 6 or above. OHCQ will also check for any 
fire safety equipment or systems that were required by the F.M. at the time of inspection.  If a F.M. 
inspection has not been completed in more than five years, OHCQ will request a Fire Marshal inspection.  

    Q.   How often are Fire Marshal inspections conducted in all group homes where it is required? 

A.  Annual inspections are required. However due to staffing shortages this is not always being 
done by Fire Marshals throughout the state.  

    Q.   Are all day programs supposed to have a Fire Marshal inspection? 

A.  Yes. F.M. inspections are required for all DD day programs. Inspections are usually requested 
by OHCQ for day programs unless an agency has already had one completed. A program may be located 
in a public building that may have already had a F.M. inspection. OHCQ would thenrequest a copy of the 
approval form.  

    Q.  What kind(s) of space heaters are acceptable? 

 A.  Portable space heaters that are electric; oil filled and look like the old fashioned radiators are 
acceptable.  They should display the “UL listed” designation. Extension cords should never be used on 
these heaters. Kerosene heaters are considered very dangerous and not acceptable by fire marshals. 

     Q.  Does each licensed site need to have a land-line telephone? 

 A.  No.  However, homes without a land line telephone cannot be tracked in the event of an 
emergency.  MD does not have a system yet to track cell phone locations for emergency purposes.  
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     Q.  We have a generator for emergencies.  Where can we store the gas?  

 A.  Gasoline that is typically used for use in lawn mowers or generators can be stored in garages 
in a proper storage container. Garages are built with fire walls and fire doors to protect the rest of the 
home from a fire that may have started in a garage. Gasoline cannot be stored on apartment balconies 
or within residences. 

POLICY ON REPORTABLE INCIDENTS AND INVESTIGATIONS (PORII): 

     Administrative Issues  

 NOTE:  EFFECTIVE MARCH 29, 2013, A WEB-BASED REPORTING SYSTEM WAS IMPLEMENTED.  
ALL INCIDENT REPORTS AND AGENCY INVESTIGATIONS MUST BE REPORTED THROUGH THE QA 
MODULE OF PCIS-2. 

Q. Do we report injury to staff or others, such as community people?  

A. The section of PORII on injury pertains to individuals, not staff. An incident must be 
reported if it involves an individual and someone in the community and/or if the police were 
involved. 

Q.  If an agency is not sure whether or not to report an incident, what should occur?  
 

A. Reporting procedures as outlined in PORII need to be followed as written. State 
residential centers (SRC) and community agencies would want to err in favor of reporting. If an 
agency is unsure, contact with your regional office is recommended. 

 
Q. What happens if an agency deems an incident as internal and later, after further investigation, 
determines that the incident is reportable?  

A. The licensee should report immediately upon making the re-determination. The 
licensee will not be penalized for not reporting the incident previously because all of the facts 
were not available.  However, a pattern of mis-identifying incidents as non-reportable will be 
subject to review and possible sanctions. 

Q.  What are the repercussions if timeframes for reporting are not adhered met?  
 

A. All licensees are to respond in good faith. If repeat issues occur and are not reported 
on time and a pattern of not reporting is evident, OHCQ will act accordingly. Such a pattern 
could be grounds for sanction by DDA. Each licensee should also be looking at its process and 
any noticeable trends should be addressed in its quality assurance plan.  
 

Q.  Who is the state protection and advocacy agency?  

A. The Maryland Disability Law Center (MDLC).  
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Q.  If you do not have any internally investigated incidents in a quarter, do you still need to 
complete a report?  

A: Yes, on the A5 report the agency shall state that there were no internally investigated 
incidents during the particular quarter. 

Q.  What is the timeframe for completing the Agency Investigation Report(AIR) for reportable 
and internally investigated incidents? 

A: The timeframe for completion and submission of the AIR is within 10 working days of 
discovery for reportable incidents.  AIRs for internally investigated incidents must be 
completed and submitted within 21 working days. to OHCQ and DDA. 

Q. Relating to individuals outside the program (approved for long-term care outside agency but 
still funded)... Are we under the same reporting requirements?  
 

A. Consult with your regional office. The outside agency may have other reporting 
requirements.  

 

      Agency Internal Protocol  

Q. Can the director designate someone within his/her agency to be contacted if he/she is not 
available?  

A. A designee can be named in the director's absence (see page 5 of PORII). However, 
this needs to be addressed in the licensee's internal protocol.  

Q. Who completes the reportable incident from the agency, the person who sees it or the 
person who reports it?  

A. The licensee's internal protocol should address this issue. Keep in mind that staff 
should be trained to report and investigate incidents in accordance with PORII. 

Q. Should one person in the agency to do all the reporting?  

A. This is up to the licensee's internal protocol. Keep in mind that staff should be trained 
to report and investigate incidents in accordance with PORII. 

Q. Where are the records for reportable incidents kept? In an individual's file or separate 
binder?  

A. The licensee's internal protocol needs to address this issue. It is recommended that 
the agency keep the reports in a place where they are easy to locate. Reports need to be 
available to the individual and his/her team, but confidentiality of records also must be 
maintained.  Records can be identified by individual name or an unique identifier.  Incidents 
involving more than one individual must be retrievable for all individuals involved. 
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Q.  Are board members to be notified about reportable and internally investigated incidents?  
 

A. Yes, the licensee should include methods of notification in its internal policy.  The 
inclusion of a board member as part of the licensee's standing committee will facilitate this 
notification. 
 

Q. All incidents are supposed to be reviewed by the standing committee. Must the members be 
provided the entire investigation or is a synopsis with availability to all information appropriate? 
 

A. The full investigation must be forwarded to the standing committee for its review. 
 

Q. Please clarify, if you are on the agency Standing Committee, you can not investigate.  
 

A. This is correct. Anyone who is directly involved would be considered in a conflict of 
interest situation under the review of the investigation. One can investigate or review, but not 
both.  

 
Q. The standing committee will meet within 7 days of what time frame? 

 
A. PORII  states that the standing committee must receive the report within 7 calendar 

days following closure of the matter, not necessarily that the committee meets. 
 

Q. In the situation where an individual is in residential and day services, within the same agency, 
who is responsible for reporting?  

A. The discovering arm of the agency is responsible for reporting, but can defer to the 
other part of the agency, as per the licensee’s internal protocol.  Please remember that trained 
staff from the agency should complete the reporting of all incidents.  Please also refer to 
“Irregular Situations” below. 

     Q.  How does the policy require agencies to handle an incident that is alleged for an individual that:  

a) lives in a DDA-licensed residential site;  

b) attends a DDA-licensed day program; and/or  

c) receives a support service from a DDA-licensed provider,  

but the incident did not occur while the individual was under the direct supervision of  
the agency providing the service, e.g., during a family visit, visit at a relative or friend’s home, at 
another facility, in school, at a camp or while on a vacation trip? 

A:  The agency shall report to authorities and community resources, as indicated, e.g., 
law enforcement authorities, Protective Services, etc. and investigate per their direction.   
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Q.  What are the reporting requirements of an agency that discovers an incident that occurred 
while the individual was receiving services from another agency?  (For example, day program 
staff allege that an incident occurred at a residential site or residential staff allege that an 
incident occurred at a day program site.) 

A:  The discovering agency shall:  

(1) Document the allegation using the method determined in their internal 
protocol,  and  

(2) notify the other agency (agency 2) of the allegation1 and cc the appropriate 
DDA regional office   

Agency 2 (where the alleged incident occurred) shall: 

(1) report the incident, and 

(2)  shall investigate, correct and monitor the situation and inform the 
discovering agency of the progress and outcome of those activities.    

(3) The Incident Report and AIR are to be submitted to OHCQ, the DDA regional 
office, and other authorities as dictated by the requirements of PORII.   

If the discovering agency is unable to verify that the event/situation has been reported, 
it shall bring the event/situation to the attention of the appropriate DDA regional office.  DDA 
will follow-up and take steps to assure appropriate action by agency 2. 

Q.  When there is disagreement between the two agencies as to the location of the incident and 
which agency is required to report the incident, who is required to report and investigate the 
incident? 

A:  When there is disagreement, both agencies are required to report and investigate 
the incident. 

Q. How can one agency ensure follow-up of another?  
 
A. You can always contact your regional office and ask for information regarding follow-
up.    

 
Q. If you are involved with a situation concerning a family home, how far can you investigate?  

                                                           
1 Article - Health – General; Title 7. Developmental Disabilities Law; Subtitle 10. Rights of Individuals §7–1005.  (b)    (1)   In addition to any 
other reporting requirement of law, a person who believes that an individual with developmental disability has been abused promptly shall 
report the alleged abuse to the executive officer or administrative head of the licensee. 
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A. An incident involving an individual's family home must be reported to Child Protective 
Services (CPS) or Adult Protective Services (APS). 

 
Q. How does PORII relate to APS and CPS referrals?  
 

A. If an incident occurs in a DDA funded or licensed agency, the policy (PORII) must be 
followed.  In addition, CPS or APS must also be notified.  If the individual is a child and the 
Department of Social Services (DSS) is the funding source, then DSS must be notified.  General 
rule of thumb: the funding source and the licensing source must be contacted.  

 

     Issues Concerning Certain Incident Types 

Abuse: 

Q.  What actions should the agency initiate with the staff person, if accused of abuse, while the 
police are completing their investigation?  

A. The responsibility of the licensee is to ensure the safety and well-being of all 
individuals involved in an incident. Licensees should address this issue and their response in 
their internal protocol.  

Q.   Where can an agency learn more about the ethical responsibilities of a certified nursing 
assistant (CNA) or a medication technician (CMT)? 

A: COMAR 10.39.07.02 delineates the ethical responsibilities of certificate holders.  
(Title 10 Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Subtitle 39 Board of Nursing-Certified 
nursing Assistants, Chapter 07 Certified Nursing Assistants/Certified Medication Technicians 
(CNA/CMT) — Code of Ethics) 

Q.  What is a “Certificate holder?” 

A: "Certificate holder" means an individual who is certified under Health Occupations 
Article, §8-6A-05 or 8-6A-08, Annotated Code of Maryland, as either a certified nursing assistant 
in any category or a medication technician. 

Q.   An agency’s investigation indicates a Certificate holder (CNA and CMT) has violated the Code 
of Ethics.  Is the agency required to report to the Maryland Board of Nursing? 

A: Yes.  For more information please see the Appendix 2A, 2B, and 2I of PORII. 

Q.   What format are agencies required to follow when making a report to the Maryland Board 
of Nursing (MBON) regarding a violation of the Code of Ethics? 

A: There is no required format, but a complaint form is available on the MBON website. 
The agency’s internal protocol must indicate the agency’s method of reporting.  At the time 
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these FAQs were revised, ethical breaches are reported via e-mail to econe@dhmh.state.md.us , 
by fax to 410-358-3530, or by mail to:  

Maryland Board of Nursing 

Complaints & Investigations Division 

4140 Patterson Avenue 

Baltimore, MD 21215-2254 

For more information, the MBON can be reached by calling 410-585-1925 or 1-888-202-9861. 

Choking: 

Q.  Is choking reportable?  

A: Yes, the 2013 revision of PORII added choking as a reportable and internally investigated incident 
category.  Please see Appendices 1G and 2G for information pertaining to when choking is internally 
investigated and when it is reportable.  

Death:  

Q.   How and where do agencies document that family does not want to be contacted except in 
case of death?  

A: This documentation should be kept in the individual’s file and should be updated at 
least annually, such as during the annual IP meeting. 

Q.  Do natural or expected deaths have to be reported to the police? 

A: All deaths that occur at a licensed site or during the provision of a licensed service 
must be reported to the police.  Agencies must notify the police as noted in HG§7–206.  “Upon 
notification of the death of an individual in a program or facility funded or operated by the 
Administration, the administrative head of the program or facility shall report the death 
immediately to the sheriff, police, or chief law enforcement official in the jurisdiction in which 
the death occurred.” 

Q.   Who notifies the Medical Examiner’s Office?  

A: In accordance with § 5-309(b) The sheriff, police, or chief law enforcement officer 
shall inform a medical examiner, and the medical examiner, if necessary, shall conduct an 
investigation.   

Q.   Do deaths need to be reported to the health department? 

A: All deaths that occur at a licensed site or during the provision of a licensed service 
must be reported to the health officer in the jurisdiction where the death occurred by the close 

mailto:econe@dhmh.state.md.us
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of business the next working day.  Agencies must notify the health department as required by 
HG§7–206.   

Q.   Do deaths need to be reported to the State protection and advocacy system (MDLC)? 

A: All deaths that occur at a licensed site or during the provision of a licensed service 
must be reported to the designated State protection and advocacy system  (MDLC) by the close 
of business the next working day.  Agencies must notify the State protection and advocacy 
system as required by HG§7–206.   

Q.  Can report of death be left on regional office voice mail?  

A: Yes, you can leave a message to report a death, but remember to follow-up with an 
incident report to both OHCQ and the regional office within one working day. 

Q.  If the individual is living at home with family, does a report of death have to be filled out?  

A: Yes, a report must be completed if the individual is receiving any type of DDA funded 
service. 

Q.  If a person receives DDA-funded residential and day services (from more than one agency), 
who is responsible for reporting death?  

A: Both agencies are required to report. 

Hospitalization:   

  Q.  Do all hospital admissions meet the criteria of a reportable incident?  

A: No.  If a person’s IP documents a need for frequent/repeated hospitalizations 
because of a chronic condition then the hospital admission is treated as an internally 
investigated incident. 

Q. Can the possible need for hospitalization be documented in 45 day nursing reviews?  
 

A. If the condition is considered to be chronic, it is recommended that the 
documentation be in the individual's plan.  
 

Q.  How do agencies report a planned hospital admission? 

A: Agencies do not report (or internally investigate) planned hospital admissions.  
Examples of planned hospital admissions include scheduled surgery, planned treatments such as 
chemotherapy, dialysis, testing such as CT scan, ultrasound, colonoscopy, etc..   The team must 
discuss these planned admissions either at the annual team meeting or an interim meeting prior 
to the hospitalization and documentation regarding the hospitalization must be part of each 
individual’s IP. 
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Q. Do you need the name and address of the hospital on the reports for hospitalization?  
 

A. The name of the hospital should be included in the description of the incident. 
 

Q. Must it be reported if independent individuals who manage their own health care admit 
themselves into the hospital? 
 

A. If the individual is served by an agency, then the policy must be followed as written.  
 

Q. Must it be reported if an individual is hospitalized in another state while visiting his or her 
family, but lives with a DDA licensed agency?  
 

A. Only if the hospitalization is the result of the care that the individual was receiving 
prior to visiting his or her family.  

 
Q. Does hospitalization include outpatient surgery such as biopsy, sedation for minor incision or 

dental care?  
 

A. If the hospitalization is unplanned, according to the policy, it must be reported. 
 

Injury: 

Q.  How does an agency classify specific injury types not listed on the Appendix 1E? 

A: In the text of PORII, injuries have been categorized for the purpose of providing a 
guideline to agencies in determining the appropriate reporting and investigating requirements.  
Agencies should exercise cautious judgment in determining the extent of medical attention that 
is required for any injury in order to establish the appropriate reporting and investigation 
requirements.  For additional information on terms, consult your agency nurse or “The American 
Red Cross First Aid and Safety Handbook.”  If still unsure, agencies should consult the DDA 
regional office for technical assistance.  

Q. Do all injuries require either an internally investigated incident or a reportable incident? 

A: No.  Injuries that may or may not require minor routine treatment do not require the 
completion of an incident report. These include Minor Abrasions, Blisters (intact, unopened), 
Skin Irritation, Minor Bruises/contusions of known origin or the result of medical treatment, 
Sunburn with no peeling or blisters, Insect bites, stings, or other bites (with no evidence of 
allergic reaction), Minor scratches, Shaving nicks, or Paper cuts. 

Incidents Reported To or Requiring Services of a Law Enforcement Agency or Fire Department:   

Q. At state residential centers and forensic residential centers, where security is considered a 
law enforcement agency, do we report to them? 

A. Yes. 
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Medication Error: 

Q. Are "self-medication" errors reportable incidents?  

A: Yes, if adverse effects are present (see Appendix 1F).  

Q. Which non-medical professional is qualified to determine if a medication error may require 
agency nurse consultation?  
 

A. No non-medical professional is qualified to determine if a medication error requires 
nursing consultation. All medication errors must be reported to the nurse.  

 
Q. If a family member is at your facility and wants to administer medications and they are not 

DDA trained, are they allowed to do so at your facility? 
 

A. In a licensed setting, medication distribution is considered a delegated act and staff 
must be trained. If the family member is trained, yes they can administer medications. It is 
suggested that this issue be addressed individually in each licensee's internal protocol. Family 
members should respect the duties of the staff members. The Nurse Practice Act allows family 
members to administer medications when the individual is in the family member's home. 

 
Q. If an individual goes home and his or her parent does not medicate correctly with 

repercussions later, what can you do about that?  
 

A. This would be handled as a medication error. Communication between the licensee 
and the family should occur as well so that such an incident can be avoided in the future. 

 
Q. What about a medication error involving a mental health facility that is discovered by a DD 

provider?  
 

A. As for all incidents that fall under an irregular situation, licensees may need to report 
to an outside agency to follow-up such as the health department, APS, CPS, etc..  IN addition, 
the licensee should be following up with the mh provider and documenting results either 
through a team meeting or correspondence.  If there are adverse effects, the incident must be 
reported, as per PORII. 

 
Q. If the pharmacy makes a medication error, is that reportable? (maybe hospitalization?)  

 
A. If there are adverse effects, yes. The authorized medication person should be 

checking the medication prior to administering. A three way check is required each time 
medication is given (per MTTP): Check the physician's order, Medication Administration Record 
(MAR), and the prescription label each time a medication is given.  

Notification to the Pharmacy Board may also be warranted. 
 
 

Neglect: 

Q.   Are all incidents categorized as neglect reportable to the police? 
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A:  The 2013 revision of PORII determined that all allegations of neglect will continue to be 
categorized as reportable incidents.  However, not all incidents of neglect continue to require police 
notification.  Please see Appendix 2B of PORII for clarification. 

Q.   Please provide examples of “substantial risk of life-threatening harm.” 

A:  Examples of substantial risk of life-threatening harm include: Death, Hospitalization, ER visit due 
to a reportable injury,  Human/animal bites,  1st or 2nd degree burns, Lacerations,  and diagnosis of 
malnutrition by LHCP not related to an illness.   

Q.  Please provide examples of, “circumstances or conditions which might reasonably result in mistreatment 
and could cause injury.” 

A: Examples of circumstances or conditions which might reasonably result in mistreatment and 
could cause injury include: dehydration not related to an illness, failure to follow up with LHCP 
recommendations regarding a life threatening condition or to rule out a life threatening condition, failure to 
provide essential medical treatment or follow up that is consistent with that of the general population, 
failure to provide a safe environment related to IP indication of a history (e.g.PICA) or Behavior Plan 
guidelines (e.g.: sharps locked due to suicidal ideation) or diagnosis of severe weight loss not related to an 
illness.  Federal guidelines define the following as severe: 1 month-over 5% body weight; 3 months-over 
7.5% body weight; 6 months-over 10% body weight 

 Restraints: 

Q. How many times can someone be restrained and are restraints reportable?  
 

A. A restraint is triggered by a challenging behavior and can be implemented as 
documented in the individual's behavior plan. A restraint must be reported if unapproved or 
inappropriate, i.e. use of a mechanical restraint which is not allowed under the regulations or 
usage of a restraint not included in an approved behavior plan.  When an unapproved restraint 
is utilized or  a restraint is used in an emergency, the individual's team must be convened within 
5 days to review the situation and action taken. Refer to the Behavior Support Services Program 
Service Plan chapter of the regulations, 10.22.10 for additional information on this subject. 

 

      Non-Reportable/Investigated Categories:  Monitoring of these supports and restraints must be part of each          
Agency’s Quality Assurance Plan. 

Chemical supports:  The use of medication as an intervention to support a person for a medical 
appointment that would not typically require sedation which has been reviewed and approved 
by the standing committee.  

Mechanical supports:  The use of a mechanical device to support a person’s proper body 
position, balance or alignment, such as splints, wedges, bolsters or lap trays, or to protect a 
person with a continuing medical condition from sustaining an injury.  
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Planned use of restraints:  The use of a mechanical device or physical intervention that is 
approved as part of a person’s behavior plan which has been reviewed and approved by the 
standing committee.  

     Administration Prioritization and Investigation Procedures(Section VI of PORII)   

Q: The OHCQ incident screening and evaluation process refers to “immediate jeopardy.” Please provide 
some examples of immediate jeopardy. 

A:  Examples of immediate jeopardy may include:  fires; second and third degree burns; lack of food, 
medication or treatment; serious medication errors; status epilepticus; poor diabetic care, or; suicide 
attempts.   

Q: The OHCQ incident screening and evaluation process refers to “high priority incidents.” Please provide 
some examples of high priority incidents. 

A:  Examples of high priority incidents may include:  being hit with an object; denied assistance with 
activities of daily living; or obtained suspicious injury. 

Q: The OHCQ incident screening and evaluation process refers to “medium priority incidents.” Please 
provide some examples of medium priority incidents. 

A:  Examples of medium priority incidents may include:  unplanned hospitalizations, certain rights 
violations; or lack of appropriate programs. 

Q: When OHCQ evaluates incidents and complaints, what factors are taken into account when determining 
the need for investigation? 

A:  OHCQ takes into account many factors, including:    

i. Did the individual receive needed intervention and health care in a timely manner? 
ii. Did the agency’s staff competently respond to the incident? 

iii. Is there any indication that regulations have been violated? 
iv. Is there any evidence of a pattern of abuse or neglect? 
v. Is there a pattern of this incident type being reported by the agency? 

vi. What is the agency’s incident reporting and investigation track record? 
vii. Does the individual’s incident history add to the impact of the incident under 

review? 
viii. Is the agency currently under sanctions? 

ix. Does the situation indicate an on-going threat to the individual? 
x. What is the extent or severity of the incident or injury? 
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 Resource Coordination 

Q. Are Resource Coordinators required to report incidents? 

A: Yes.  The 2013 revision of PORII more precisely outlines the responsibilities of Resource 
Coordinators.   Please see Section III of PORII. 

Q.  Does the policy require agencies send the Incident report  to the Resource Coordinator who works with 
the individual identified in the report? 

A: The 2013 revision of PORII and the web-based reporting system provide for notification of the 
respective resource coordinators when an incident occurs involving an individual the RC works with.   

Q.  Under what authority are agencies required to disclose Incident Reports to Resource Coordinators? 

A:  Disclosure of the Incident Report is required under Maryland Code Health General 
Title 7- Developmental Disabilities Law, Subtitle 10 - Rights of Individuals, Section 7-1010 - 
Records - Consent to disclosure. 

 

Q.  Does the policy require agencies send the AIR to the Resource Coordinator who works with the individual 
identified in the incident report? 

A:  No. Agencies are not required to provide the Resource Coordinator with the AIR.  Agencies are 
required to collaborate with Resource Coordinators to make sure that appropriate action is taken to protect 
the participant from harm.   The agency is required to advise the Resource Coordinator of the interventions 
taken and follow-up plan that will prevent future recurrence.  

STANDING COMMITTEE 

 Q. Does a multi-agency standing committee count another agency's members as "outside agency" 
representatives?  
A. No. All staff are considered inside representatives. 
 
Q. Are board members considered agency or community representatives on standing committees? 
A. Board members are counted as agency (inside) representatives. 
 
 
Q. Is there a minimum size to a standing committee?  
A. No, refer to the DDA regulations, 10.22.02.14E for more information on standing committees. 
 
Q. What does "individual" mean on the standing committee?  
A. Refer to the DDA regulations 10.22.01.01B(25) for the definition of an "individual". 
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DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES ADMINISTRATION 
REGIONAL OFFICES MAIN PHONE AND FAX NUMBERS 
 
Central Region 
Telephone: (410)234-8200 
TOLL FREE: 1-877-874-2494 
FAX: (410)234-8397 

 
Eastern Shore Region 
Telephone: (410)572-5920 
FAX: (410)572-5988 
Toll Free: 1-888-219-0478 

 
Southern Region 
Telephone: (301)362-5100 
TOLL FREE: 1-888-207-2479 
FAX: (301)362-5130 

 
Western Region 
Telephone: (301)791-4670 
TOLL FREE: 1-888-791-0193 
FAX: (301)791-4019 
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