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DENTIST – JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION – 2016
The successful completion of this examination fulfills the Jurisprudence requirements for the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners for Dentists.  Each question has one correct answer.  Circle the letter next to the correct answer.  This examination is open book.

1. 
It is the responsibility of the licensee to notify the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners within 60 days of any change of office address. 

a. 
True

b. 
False

2. 
In Maryland it is a violation of the dental law to hold oneself out to the public as a specialist in: 

a. 
Implantology



d. 
All of the above

b. 
Cosmetic dentistry


e. 
Answers a. and b. only

c. 
TMJ therapy

3. 
An advertisement by a dentist must include: 

a. 
The fee for the service advertised

b. 
The name of a licensed dentist providing the dental services being advertised

c. 
The license number of the dentist providing the dental services being advertised

d. 
The telephone number of a licensed dentist providing the dental services being 

    
advertised

e. 
All of the above 

4. 
Allowing an individual who does not have a dental license or a dental hygiene license to scale and / or polish teeth may cause the dentist: 

a.
To be charged by the Board with unprofessional conduct and criminally 

    
charged with a misdemeanor

b.
To be charged by the Board with unprofessional conduct and criminally charged 

   
with a felony 

c. 
None of the above

5. 
You wish to hire an individual to take and expose radiographs in your dental office. The individual is not licensed or certified in another state to take and expose radiographs. For the individual to receive certification in Maryland to take and expose radiographs the individual must: 

a. 
Provide to the Board a sworn statement by a Maryland licensed dentist that the 

individual is competent to place and expose dental radiographs

b. 
Satisfactorily complete the Board approved educational requirements established 

by the Maryland State Dental Association or the Maryland Dental Society

c. 
Pass an examination administered or approved by the Board for qualifying to 

place and expose radiographs

d. 
Answers b. and c. only

6. 
A licensed dentist who supervises an individual practicing dental radiation technology who is not certified under the Board’s regulations is: 

a. 
Guilty of permitting an unauthorized individual to practice dentistry under their 

supervision and may be subject to disciplinary action by the Board

b. 
Guilty of permitting an unauthorized individual to practice dental radiation 

technology under their supervision and may be subject to disciplinary action by 

the Board

7. 
A dental hygienist under the direct supervision of a dentist may: 

a. 
Administer nitrous oxide

b. 
Administer nitrous oxide only if they have previously submitted to the Board 

written documentation of at least 100 hours of advanced training in nitrous oxide 

administration provided in a course or courses approved by the American Dental Association or the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons

c. 
Monitor the nitrous oxide administered to a patient by a dentist

d. 
Monitor and maintain the nitrous oxide administered to a patient by a dentist

e. 
None of the above

8. 
In order to renew a dental or dental hygiene license in 2005 or thereafter, a dentist or dental hygienist must: 

a. 
Complete not less than 30 full hours of clinical continuing education including 2 

hours of infection control

b. 
Maintain cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification 

c. 
Provide and document at least 10 hours of pro bono dental services at a facility 

licensed by either the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, or a 

federally qualified community heath care program that provides dental care to the 

poor, elderly or handicapped

d. 
All of the above

e. 
Answers a. and b. only

9. 
Records to document continuing education credits are: 

a. 
Forwarded to the Board as credits are earned by the licensee 

b. 
Maintained by the Secretary \ Treasurer of the Board 

c. 
Maintained by the licensee for five (5) years and made available to the Board 

upon request 

d. 
Answers a. and b. only 

10. 
You have a patient that is dissatisfied with your services. The patient requests that a copy of their dental records be sent to them. The patient has an undisputed balance due to you of $100.00. 

a. 
You may withhold providing a copy of the records until the patient pays the 

balance due

b. 
You may withhold providing a copy of the records until the appropriate copying 

fee is paid

c. 
If the records are to be mailed, you may charge the patient for the actual cost for 

postage and handling 

d. 
You may not withhold providing a copy of the records for any reason

e. 
Answers b. and c. only

11. 
An individual who owns, operates, or manages a dental practice is engaged in “the 
practice of dentistry” whether he/she actually treats patients. 

a.
True

b. 
False 

12. 
Which of the following statement(s) are true for the practice of dentistry in a private dental office: 

a. 
A dentist who administers general anesthesia must have a general anesthesia 

administration permit issued by the Board

b. 
A dentist who administers general anesthesia must do so only in a facility that 

has been issued a general anesthesia facility permit

c. 
A dentist who has a general anesthesia administration permit may administer 

parenteral sedation

d. 
A dentist who has a parenteral sedation administration permit may administer 

general anesthesia if a dentist with a general anesthesia administration permit is on-site.  

e. 
All of the above

f. 
Answers a., b., and c. only

13. 
Dental hygienists in Maryland may perform dental hygiene services under general supervision in a private dental office with the permission of a supervising dentist if: 

a. 
The dental hygienist has at least 1,200 hours of dental hygiene clinical practice in 

direct patient care

b. 
Treatments authorized by a supervising dentist to be provided by the dental hygienist are rendered no later than 6 months from the date the patient was examined and evaluated by the supervising dentist 

c.  
There is a written agreement between the supervising dentist and the dental 

hygienist that clearly sets forth the terms and conditions under which the dental hygienist may practice, including a statement that the dental hygienist may provide dental hygiene services without the supervising dentist on the premises 

d. 
The number of unsupervised clinical hours worked by a supervised dental hygienist in any given calendar week is less than 50 percent of the dental hygienist’s total hours 

e. 
All of the above 

14. 
Sexual misconduct of either a verbal or physical nature includes but is not limited to: 

a. 
Requesting sexual favors of a patient 

b. 
Touching a patient in a sexual manner 

c. 
Verbal conduct of a sexual nature while treating a patient

d. 
All of the above 

e. 
Answers a. and b. only

15.  
Except in an emergency life threatening situation where it is not feasible or practicable, all 
Maryland dentists are required to comply with CDC “Guidelines for Infection Control in 
Dental Health-care Settings.”

a. 
True

b. 
False 

16. 
A dental hygienist may not: 

a. 
Perform a diagnosis



d. 
Correct tooth placement

b. 
Perform an extraction



e.  
All of the above

c. 
Repair a cavity




f. 
Answers b., c., and d. only

17. 
You are a dentist that uses the services of a dental laboratory that is not on the premises of the dental office with which you are associated. Which of the following statements are true: 

a. 
You may direct that your patient appear at the dental laboratory 

b. 
You may direct that your patient appear at the dental laboratory only if the dental laboratory is to match a shade

c. 
The dental laboratory must receive a work authorization signed by a licensed dentist who requests the work

d. 
Answers b. and c. only

18. 
A dentist may not advertise that he/she:

a. 
Provides superior service

b. 
Provides painless dental care

c. 
Practices non-toxic dentistry

d. 
Is a specialist in a specialty not recognized as such by the American Dental Association

e. 
All of the above

19. 
Regulations of the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners are: 

a. 
Recommendations that are advisory in nature and are not enforceable

b. 
Promulgated by the Board and are enforceable

c. 
Not enforceable unless a copy of each new regulation is mailed to Maryland licensed dentists and dental hygienists at least 30 days before their effective date

d. 
Answers b. and c. only

e. 
None of the above

20. 
A dental assistant may perform the following duties under the direct supervision of a dentist: 

a. 
Photography (not conventional or digital x-ray)

b. 
Take alginate impressions for study models or diagnostic casts

c. 
Construct athletic mouth guards on models

d. 
All of the above

e. 
None of the above

f. 
Answers a. and c. only

21. 
A dental assistant certified by the Dental Assisting National Board as qualified in general duties may: 

a. 
Apply topical anesthesia

b. 
Take alginate impressions for study models or diagnostic casts

c. 
Place and remove a matrix band

d. 
Place and remove a retraction cord

e. 
Polish teeth or restorations

f. 
All of the above

g. 
Answers a., b., c., and d. only

22. 
A dental assistant certified by the Dental Assisting National Board as qualified in orthodontics may: 

a. 
Apply topical anesthesia

b. 
Adjust an arch wire

c. 
Prepare a temporary crown

d. 
Place and remove a matrix band

e. 
Remove a suture

f. 
All of the above

g. 
Answers b. and d. only

23.  
A dental hygienist may: 

a. 
Perform a preliminary dental examination

b. 
Place subgingival medicaments

c. 
Perform a brush biopsy

d. 
Place and remove a retraction cord

e. 
All of the above

f. 
Answers a., b., and d. only

24.  
The Board may deny a general license to practice dentistry, a limited license to practice dentistry, or a teacher’s license to practice dentistry to any applicant, reprimand any licensed dentist, place any dentist on probation, or suspend or revoke the license of any licensed dentist if the applicant or licensee: 

a. 
Provides professional services while under the influence of alcohol

b. 
Has had a license to practice dentistry revoked or suspended in any other state

c. 
Uses in connection with the practice of dentistry a business entity name or a trade name that is not authorized by law

d. 
Uses or promotes or causes the use of any misleading, deceiving, or untruthful advertising matter

e. 
All of the above

f. 
Answers a., b., and d. only

25. 
A dental hygienist may own or operate a dental practice or a dental hygiene practice.  

a. 
True

b. 
False

maryland state board of dental examiners

benjamin rush building ( spring grove hospital center

wade avenue/Tulip Drive ( baltimore, Maryland 21228

phone – 410-402-8511 ( fax – 410-402-8505

www.dhmh.state.md.us/dental
PLEASE PRINT CAREFULLY. THIS WILL BE USED TO NOTIFY YOU OF YOUR RESULTS

JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION

FROM THE MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

NAME








ADDRESS







SCORE:




· PASSED

· FAILED

1

