MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS
Spring Grove Hospital Center ● Benjamin Rush Building 

55 Wade Avenue ● Tulip Drive

Catonsville, Maryland  21228

(410) 402-8500

CONVERSION APPLICATION
TO CONVERT GENERAL ANESTHESIA ADMINISTRATION PERMIT TO A CLASS III PERMIT AND 
CONVERSION APPLICATION 

TO CONVERT PARENTERAL SEDATION ADMINISTRATION PERMIT TO A CLASS II PERMIT

USE THIS FORM IF YOU WISH TO CONVERT A GENERAL ANESTHESIA ADMINISTRATION PERMIT TO A CLASS III PERMIT PRIOR TO ITS EXPIRATION OR IF YOU WISH TO CONVERT A PARENTERAL SEDATION ADMINISTRATION PERMIT TO A CLASS II PERMIT PRIOR TO ITS EXPIRATION.

NOTE: YOU MAY ONLY CONVERT A GENERAL ANESTHESIA ADMINISTRATON PERMIT TO A CLASS III PERMIT IF YOU HOLD A GENERAL ANESTHESIA FACILITY PERMIT FOR THE LOCATION AT WHICH YOU SEEK TO CONVERT THE PERMIT. 
IN ADDITION, YOU MAY ONLY CONVERT A PARENTERAL SEDATION ADMINISTRATION PERMIT TO A CLASS II PERMIT IF YOU HOLD A PARENTERAL SEDATION FACILITY PERMIT FOR THE LOCATION AT WHICH YOU SEEK TO CONVERT THE PERMIT.  
DENTISTS WHO DO NOT HOLD A FACILITY PERMIT WILL NOT BE PERMITTED TO CONVERT THEIR ADMINISTRATION PERMITS.

Important: Before completing this form you must be familiar with the law in Maryland regarding anesthesia and sedation. Please go to the Board’s website at www.dhmh.state.md.us/dental/ and review the “Bulletin-Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners-Anesthesia and Sedation” as well as the “Final Copy of Anesthesia and Sedation Regulations.” Please be aware that the anesthesia and sedation laws change with time. You are responsible for knowing the current law. 

In addition, please carefully read all of the instructions. Failure to comply with legal requirements or failure to properly complete this form may result in delay or denial of your application. Read this application in its entirety before completing. Please be mindful of the choices that you make. Please print and write legibly. Illegible forms and forms that are incomplete will be returned. 
This form shall not be utilized by the University of Maryland Dental School for its permits. 
Dentists submitting an application must include a non-refundable check or money order made payable to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners. The fee for conversion of a parenteral sedation administration permit to a Class II Permit is $300 per location. The fee for conversion of a general anesthesia administration permit to a Class III Permit  is $600 per location. 
This application must be completed for: 
A. Conversion of a General Anesthesia Administration Permit to a Class III Permit; or 
B. Conversion of a Parenteral Sedation Administration Permit to a Class II Permit. 

Dental license Number:  








   
Print name: 











Address on file with the Board: 

I presently hold a (check the appropriate box): 

□ General anesthesia administration permit and a general anesthesia facility permit
General anesthesia administration permit number: 




General anesthesia facility permit number: (Location 1): 





General anesthesia facility permit number: (Location 2): 






Location(s) at which you presently hold a general anesthesia facility permit:

(1)













(2)













(Add an additional sheet if necessary)
Location(s) at which you wish to convert your general anesthesia administration permit to a Class III permit. (You must hold a general anesthesia facility permit for each location specified here):

(1)













(2)













(Add an additional sheet if necessary)
I presently hold a (check the appropriate box): 
 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Parenteral sedation administration permit and a parenteral sedation facility permit
Parenteral sedation administration permit number: 




Parenteral sedation facility permit number (Location 1): 





Parenteral sedation facility permit number (Location 2): 






Location(s) at which you presently hold a parenteral sedation facility permit:

(1)












(2)












(Add an additional sheet if necessary)
Locations at which you wish to convert your parenteral sedation administration permit to a Class II permit. (You must hold a parenteral sedation facility permit for each location specified here): 

(1)













(2)













Note: For general anesthesia administration permit holders who seek to convert their permit(s) to a Class III Permit(s): 
Renewal evaluation: In addition to other requirements you must pass a "renewal evaluation" in each facility for which you wish to receive a Class III permit. You will be contacted by an evaluator to schedule the evaluation. 

The evaluation shall consist of an evaluation of anesthesia and monitoring equipment to ensure that they are in proper working order; and that you maintain and utilize the appropriate drugs on the premises the dates of which have not expired.
Continuing education: In addition to other requirements you must submit evidence to the Board along with this application of completion of not less than 10 hours of clinical continuing education related to sedation or anesthesia in a class room setting during the preceding 5 years. 

Cardiopulmonary resuscitation:  In addition to other requirements you must maintain cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification from one of the following programs: The American Heart Association's Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers, The American Red Cross’s Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation for Professional Rescuers, the American Safety & Health Institute, or an equivalent program approved by the Board. You must submit evidence of current certification along with this application.
ACLS or PALS: In addition to other requirements you must maintain either Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certification, or maintain Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) certification. You must submit evidence of current certification along with this application.
Note: For parenteral sedation administration permit holders who seek to convert their permit(s) to a Class II Permit(s): 

Verification and Inspection of equipment: In addition to other requirements you must submit to the Board written verification of inspection of your anesthesia and monitoring equipment from a recognized service company indicating that the equipment is in proper working order. 
Training in basic life support and handling of medical emergences: In addition to other requirements you must submit written verification to the Board along with this application that since the issuance of your most recent parenteral sedation administration permit you and the appropriate individuals on your staff have completed training in basic life support and the handling of medical emergencies. 
Appropriate drugs: In addition to other requirements you must submit written verification to the Board that you maintain and utilize the appropriate drugs on the premises the dates of which have not expired.

Continuing education: In addition to other requirements you must submit evidence to the Board along with this application of completion of not less than 10 hours of clinical continuing education related to sedation or anesthesia in a class room setting during the preceding 5 years. 

Cardiopulmonary resuscitation:  In addition to other requirements you must maintain cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification from one of the following programs: The American Heart Association's Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers, The American Red Cross’s Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation for Professional Rescuers, the American Safety & Health Institute, or an equivalent program approved by the Board. You must submit evidence of current certification along with this application.

ACLS or PALS: In addition to other requirements you must maintain either Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certification, or maintain Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) certification. You must submit evidence of current certification along with this application.
All applicants:
Have you ever treated a patient under deep sedation or general anesthesia with an incident? An “incident” means dental treatment performed on a patient under moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia with unforeseen complications. 

YES
NO


(
(   

If you answered Yes to this question attach an affidavit to this application. You must sign and date the affidavit which must contain the following language: “I solemnly affirm under the penalties of perjury that the contents of the foregoing affidavit are true to the best of my knowledge, information, and belief.” The affidavit must include at least the following: 

a.
The date of the incident;

b. 
The name, age, and address of the patient; 

c.
The patient’s original complete dental records; 

d.
The name and license number of the licensee and the name and address of all other persons present during the incident;

e. 
The address where the incident took place; 

f. 
The preoperative physical condition of the patient; 

g.
The type of anesthesia and dosages of drugs administered to the patient;

h. 
The techniques used in administering the drugs; 

i. 
Any adverse occurrence including: 

(i) The patient’s signs and symptoms;

(ii) The treatments instituted in response to adverse occurrences; 

(ii) The patient's response to the treatment; and

(iii) The patient's condition on termination of any procedures undertaken; and

j.
A narrative description of the incident including approximate times and evolution of symptoms. 
CHARACTER AND FITNESS

MUST BE ANSWERED BY ALL APPLICANTS
1. Have you ever held a general anesthesia administration permit, a parenteral sedation administration permit, a general anesthesia facility permit, or a parenteral sedation administration permit in Maryland?  (This includes both current and former permits which have expired).
YES
NO


(
(   If you answered “YES” please provide the effective date(s) and the date(s) of expiration. For facility permits also include the location. 





2. Have you ever held a general anesthesia administration permit, a parenteral sedation administration permit, a general anesthesia facility permit, a parenteral sedation administration permit, or any other anesthesia and sedation permit in any other state? 

YES
NO


(
(   If you answered “YES” please provide the effective date(s) and the date(s) of expiration. 























3. Have any investigations or charges been brought against you or are any currently pending in any jurisdiction, including Maryland, by any licensing or disciplinary board or any federal or state entity arising out of your administration of anesthesia or sedation or as a result of your ownership of a facility in which anesthesia or sedation was administered?

YES
NO


(
(   If you answered “YES” please provide a detailed explanation on a separate page(s). Sign and date each page(s). If the investigations or charges resulted in any orders, reprimands, or administrative action, public or otherwise, attach a certified copy of each document. The certification must come from the issuing agency.  
I have enclosed a check made payable to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners for $ __________________ as payment for the requested permits. 

I understand that once the Board begins the review process I will not be entitled to a refund of any fees paid.

Sign the Affidavit below if you have never treated a patient under deep sedation or general anesthesia with an incident. Do not sign the affidavit if you have ever treated a patient under deep sedation or general anesthesia with an incident. Instead, attach an affidavit as outlined in a. through j. above.
Affidavit

I solemnly affirm under the penalties of perjury that I have never treated a patient under deep sedation or general anesthesia with an incident. 

Applicant Signature





Date
Release and Certification:
I hereby affirm that I have read and followed the above instructions. I hereby certify that all information in this application is accurate and correct and that I have complied with all of the conversion requirements as contained in the applicable law.

I agree that the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners may request any information necessary to process this application from any person or agency, including but not limited to postgraduate program directors, individual dentists, government agencies, the National Practitioner Data Bank, the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank, hospitals and other licensing bodies, and I agree that any person or agency may release to the Board the information requested.  I also agree to sign any subsequent release for information that may be requested by the Board.

I agree that I will fully cooperate with any request for information or with any investigation related to my dental practice as a licensed dentist in the State of Maryland, including the subpoena of documents or records or the inspection of my dental practice.

During the period in which my application is being processed, I shall inform the Board within 2 business days of any change to any answer I originally gave in this application.
Applicant Signature





Date
INOTARY
STATE OF ____________________

CITY/COUNTY OF ______________________


I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT on this ________ day of ______________, 20​__​_, before me, a Notary Public of the State of Maryland and the City/County aforesaid, personally appeared before me ​​​​​__________________________________________________and made oath in due form of law that signing the foregoing Conversion Application was his\her voluntary act and deed. 


AS WITNESS my hand and Notarial Seal.

_____________________________

Notary Public
My Commission Expires: ____________________
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